Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

About the THANZ Medal

Home » Awards and Grants » Awards » THANZ Scientific Medal » About the THANZ Medal

This annual award was instituted in 1996, and from 2002 – 2005 was sponsored by AstraZeneca (and known as the AstraZeneca Medal). From 2006- 2015, the award was again known as the ASTH Medal and it is now known as the THANZ Medal

The award is intended for new individuals working actively in clinical and laboratory research in the field of thrombosis and haemostasis. The award is judged on the basis of abstracts submitted to the annual Blood meeting. The award winner receives the THANZ Medal, a solid silver medallion, and a prize of A$2,000. In addition, there are two runner up awards of A$500 each.

  • Entrants for the award must be aged 45 years or less on the closing day of Blood and be a member of THANZ.
  • The entrant must be a clinician, nurse, scientist or technologist working actively in the field of thrombosis and haemostasis and must be the main author and presenter of the abstract
  • Applications must be made at the time of abstract submission to Blood via the online submission process.
  • Each entrant may only nominate one abstract
  • Previous winners of the Medal and invited speakers are ineligible

Applications will be judged, by a panel of experts drawn from the THANZ membership, on the basis of a) abstracts submitted for the annual meeting and b) an oral presentation. For those entrants submitting posters, there will be an opportunity to present their work to the judging panel. The winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner.

Further information can be obtained from the award organiser:

THANZ Secretariat
PO Box77
Brunswick South LPO
West Brunswick
Vic 3055
Phone: +61 3 9388 9876

Our Sponsors

2024 Corporate Sponsor

THANZ receives financial assistance from the following corporate supporter
© 2024
 Thrombosis & Haemostasis Society of Australia and New Zealand